

Council

Friday 7 March 2014 2.00 pm (Special Meeting)

Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend



COUNCIL (Special Meeting)

Friday 7 March 2014, at 2.00 pm Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

THE LORD MAYOR (Councillor Vickie Priestley)
THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR (Councillor Peter Rippon)

| | THE BEI G | · · · - | ord with ord (oddinomor rotor re | | |
|---|--|---------|---|----|---|
| 1 | Arbourthorne Ward Julie Dore Mike Drabble Jack Scott | 10 | Dore & Totley Ward Keith Hill Joe Otten Colin Ross | 19 | Mosborough Ward David Barker Isobel Bowler Tony Downing |
| 2 | Beauchief & Greenhill Ward Simon Clement-Jones Roy Munn Clive Skelton | 11 | East Ecclesfield Ward Garry Weatherall Steve Wilson Joyce Wright | 20 | Nether Edge Ward Nikki Bond Anders Hanson Qurban Hussain |
| 3 | Beighton Ward Helen Mirfin-Boukouris Chris Rosling-Josephs Ian Saunders | 12 | Ecclesall Ward Penny Baker Roger Davison Diana Stimely | 21 | Richmond Ward John Campbell Martin Lawton Lynn Rooney |
| 4 | Birley Ward Denise Fox Bryan Lodge Karen McGowan | 13 | Firth Park Ward Sheila Constance Alan Law Chris Weldon | 22 | Shiregreen & Brightside Ward Peter Price Sioned-Mair Richards Peter Rippon |
| 5 | Broomhill Ward Jayne Dunn Shaffaq Mohammed Stuart Wattam | 14 | Fulwood Ward Sue Alston Andrew Sangar Cliff Woodcraft | 23 | Southey Ward Leigh Bramall Tony Damms Gill Furniss |
| 6 | Burngreave Ward Jackie Drayton Ibrar Hussain Talib Hussain | 15 | Gleadless Valley Ward Steve Jones Cate McDonald Tim Rippon | 24 | Stannington Ward David Baker Katie Condliffe Vickie Priestley |
| 7 | Central Ward Jillian Creasy Mohammad Maroof Robert Murphy | 16 | Graves Park Ward Ian Auckland Bob McCann Denise Reaney | 25 | Stockbridge & Upper Don Ward Alison Brelsford Richard Crowther Philip Wood |
| 8 | Crookes Ward Sylvia Anginotti Rob Frost Geoff Smith | 17 | Hillsborough Ward Janet Bragg Bob Johnson George Lindars-Hammond | 26 | Walkley Ward Ben Curran Neale Gibson Nikki Sharpe |
| 9 | <i>Darnall Ward</i> Harry Harpham Mazher Iqbal Mary Lea | 18 | Manor Castle Ward Jenny Armstrong Terry Fox Pat Midgley | 27 | West Ecclesfield Ward Trevor Bagshaw Adam Hurst Alf Meade |
| | | | | 28 | Woodhouse Ward Mick Rooney |

Jackie Satur Ray Satur John Mothersole

Chief Executive

Paul Robinson, Democratic Services
Tel: 0114 2734029
paul.robinson@sheffield.gov.uk

PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Council is composed of 84 Councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their Ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints the Leader and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its Committees. It also appoints representatives to serve on joint bodies and external organisations.

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at www.sheffield.gov.uk. You can also see the reports to be discussed at the meeting if you call at the First Point Reception, Town Hall, Pinstone Street entrance. The Reception is open between 9.00 am and 5.00 pm, Monday to Thursday and between 9.00 am and 4.45 pm. on Friday, or you can ring on telephone no. 2734552. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked * on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to Council meetings and recording is allowed under the direction of the Chair. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for further information regarding public questions and petitions and details of the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at council meetings.

Council meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last. If you would like to attend the meeting please report to the First Point Reception desk where you will be directed to the meeting room.

FACILITIES

There are public toilets available, with wheelchair access, on the ground floor of the Town Hall. Induction loop facilities are available in meeting rooms.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained through the ramp on the side to the main Town Hall entrance.

7 MARCH 2014

(Special Meeting for the purposes of approving a Revenue Budget and Capital Programme and setting the Council Tax for the Financial Year 2014/15)

Order of Business

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST OR INABILITY TO VOTE ON THE SETTING OF THE COUNCIL TAX

Members to declare any interests they have in the business to be considered at the meeting, or an inability to vote on the setting of the Council Tax charge where there are arrears of at least two months on a Council Tax account they are solely or jointly liable for.

3. PUBLIC QUESTIONS AND PETITIONS AND OTHER COMMUNICATIONS

To receive any questions or petitions from the public, or communications submitted by the Lord Mayor or the Chief Executive and to pass such resolutions thereon as the Council Procedure Rules permit and as may be deemed expedient.

4. REPRESENTATION, DELEGATED AUTHORITY AND RELATED ISSUES

To consider any changes to the memberships and arrangements for meetings of Committees etc., delegated authority, and the appointment of representatives to serve on other bodies.

5. DESIGNATION OF MONITORING OFFICER AND SECTION 151 OFFICER

Report of the Chief Executive.

6. REVENUE BUDGET AND CAPITAL PROGRAMME 2014/15

To consider so much of the minutes of a meeting of the Cabinet held on 19th February 2014 arising from its consideration of (a) a joint report of the Chief Executive and the Executive Director, Resources on the Revenue Budget 2014/15 and (b) a report of the Executive Director, Resources on the Capital Programme 2014/15, and to pass resolutions thereon as appropriate.

NOTE: Reports on the Revenue Budget and Capital Programme 2014/15 have been circulated to all Council Members with this Council Summons and can also be viewed at –

http://sheffielddemocracy.moderngov.co.uk/ieListDocuments.aspx?Cld=154&Mld=5373&Ver=4

Chief Executive

Dated this 27 day of February 2014

Dha Nolherde

The next ordinary meeting of the Council will be held on 2 April 2014 at the Town Hall